A melody, a short word and a quiet weep

At the end of Les Misérables, when Jean Valjean is dying and Fantine’s ghost appears at his side, they sing:

“Come with me, the chains will never bind you,
All your grief, at last, at last behind you.
Lord in heaven, look down on him in mercy.
Forgive me all my trespasses and take me to Your Glory.

Take my hand, I’ll lead you to salvation.
Take my love, for love is everlasting.
And remember the truth that once was spoken:
To love another person is to see the face of God.”

In the heartbreaking anticipation of the death of a loved one who is losing his fight against cancer, the words and music had me weeping tonight. And yet, in that moment of terrible sadness, the music had such hope and salvation in it, I could not help but be comforted.

What would we be without music, and lyrics?

Quite miserable, I believe.

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

